Awards of Excellence

With the generous support of Pfizer, CANO/ACIO offers an awards program for oncology nurses to recognize excellence in the areas of practice, education, research, and leadership. Each award consists of an honorarium, and is presented at the annual conference. CANO/ACIO members are encouraged to nominate their colleagues who demonstrate excellence and leadership in oncology nursing.

Award of Excellence in Nursing Clinical Practice

  • This award is presented to a nurse who:
    • Demonstrates leadership in the development of oncology patient care
    • Has significant contributions to the improvement of oncology patient care at the agency, community, provincial or national level
    • Utilizes and clearly articulates current research and theory applicable to cancer nursing
    • Encourages creative approaches to patient care
    • Encourages development, implementation and evaluation of changes in nursing practice as well as developing professionally as an individual
    • Possesses the ability to act as a change agent in nursing practice (e.g. congenial, supportive, energetic, and enthusiastic

Award of Excellence in Nursing Education

  • This award is presented to a nurse who:
    • Has been involved in the development and promotion of an oncology nursing educational activity during the past 24 months related to nursing practice
    • Uses creative teaching ideas to facilitate learning
    • Demonstrates competency in applying teaching-learning theories to the development, implementation, and evaluation of oncology nursing educational experiences
    • Assumes responsibility for personal professional development in oncology nursing education
    • Continues clinical involvement on which to base education development

Award of Excellence in Nursing Research

  • This award is presented to a nurse who(se):
    • Research has a clinical focus and demonstrated practical application
    • Has created or maintains a program in which new research findings are shared among oncology nurses
    • Influences the development of research-based nursing practice

Award of Excellence in Nursing Leadership 

  • This award is presented to a nurse who:
    • Demonstrates administrative leadership by facilitating or supporting the development and/or enhancement of oncology programs at the agency, community, provincial, or national level
    • Is actively involved in strategic planning and evaluation of oncology services
    • Networks with oncology nurses across regions to share experiences and ensure a minimum standard of care is being met
    • Keeps abreast of current oncology nursing research and trends in health care, and helps disseminate this information to fellow oncology nurses
    • Participates in interdisciplinary committee work
    • Consistently demonstrates effective interpersonal skills

CANO/ACIO-Amgen Award for Innovation in Oncology Patient and Family Education 

This award recognizes oncology nurses whose primary function is patient and family care and who have demonstrated creativity in the development of patient education materials, programs, or the delivery of patient education. The award consists of an honorarium, which can be used for travel and accommodation expenses to attend the CANO/ACIO annual conference as well as conference registration.

CANO/ACIO Award of Excellence in Kidney Cancer Nursing

This award, sponsored by Kidney Cancer Canada in honour of its co-founder Tony Clark, acknowledges an individual or group of CANO/ACIO members who have made an exceptional difference to the lives of kidney cancer patients.

Tony was diagnosed with kidney cancer in 2004 and throughout his cancer journey was focused on living life and advocating for educational resources and support for other kidney cancer patients and their caregivers.

Nominations should describe how the nominee (at least two of the following):
  • Demonstrates the importance of the nurse/patient relationship
  • Demonstrates nursing leadership through clinical practice and advocates for improved patient care
  • Mentors fellow nurses in the area of kidney cancer management
  • Utilizes current oncology nursing research and theory or conducts research that has a clinical focus and practical application for patients with kidney cancer
  • Has developed or promotes patient education materials that address symptom management or treatment-related side effects, and thus improvement of quality of life

This award is open to non-members.

CANO/ACIO-BD Commitment to Safety Award (New)

This award recognizes the outstanding work of an oncology  nurse who is committed to patient and/or healthcare worker safety. The successful candidate has championed process improvements through leadership, culture, best practices, innovation and change management. An oncology nurse, whose expertise is geared towards clinician and patient safety. Through their efforts, the candidate and his/her peers are able to provide a continuum of care in an environment that is safe for both the patients and the staff positively impacting the treatment of people living with cancer

Eligibility (not all criteria need to be met in order to be eligible for this award):

  • Establishment of a collaborative and multidisciplinary approach to safer care delivery, that includes engaging one or more of the following: senior management, occupational health and safety, housekeeping, front line clinicians, patients and families
  • Introduction of new technologies / innovative practices that improve patient and/or clinician safety
  • Adoption of a comprehensive approach to program implementation (examples may include process metrics, patient reported outcomes, performance indicators, educational component, benchmarking, system wide implementation)
  • Evidence of sustainability (e.g. integration into the business / operational plan) and replicability
  • Evidence that patient and healthcare worker safety is improved
  • Project/process improvements should apply to an oncology setting

This award is open to non-members.


Last Updated: July 19, 2017

Have feedback about our updated site? Let us know here 

© 2017 Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology (CANO). All rights reserved.